Stanford Faculty Development Center for Medical Teachers  

Previous SFDC Program: Preventive Medicine

The Clinical Preventive Medicine (PM) program was offered from 1986-1995. The curriculum covered the seven topics, including Preventive Medicine Overview, Nutrition: Cancer and CHD Prevention, Smoking Cessation. Preventive Screening, Cholesterol: Pharmacological Interventions, Alcohol Abuse, and Weight Control and Exercise. Program evaluation indicated that participants changed their attitudes towards PM issues, perceived the seminars as useful, would participate in seminars again, would recommend seminars to other physicians, and thought seminars provided useful interaction with other faculty.

The seminars had a positive impact on participating teachers' knowledge, attitudes, and skills, including

Program Faculty (1986-95): John W. Farquhar, MD; Abby King, PhD; Cheryl L. Albright, PhD, MPH; Dennis Davidson, MD; David P.L. Sachs, MD; Douglas Owens, MD; William Hazle, MD.
List of Trained PM Facilitators
29 Institutions 37 Facilitators Program
Albert Einstein Medical Center, Bronx, NY Wm. Barry Bateman PM 1988
Geisinger Medical Center, Danville, PA Thomas Balz PM 1987
Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA Nancy Rigotti PM 1989
Highland General Hospital, Oakland, CA Lyn Berry PM 1992
Indian Health Service, Zuni, NM J. Kevin Culhane PM 1988
Kettering Medical Center, Kettering, OH Steven Villegas PM 1990
Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA Marla Cannatella PM 1993
Loyola University, Maywood, IL Laurie Towne PM 1990
Medical College of Virginia, Richmond, VA Robert Centor PM 1990
New York University School of Medicine, NY, NY Warren Thompson PM 1988
Oregon Health Sciences University, Portland, OR Minot Cleveland PM 1993
Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, San Jose, CA Kent Imai PM 1986
St. Joseph's Hospital & Medical Center, Phoenix, AZ Gregory Gahm PM 1991
St. Louis University, St. Louis, MO Eliot Katz PM 1995
Stanford University Jeffrey Croke
Harvey Dondershine
Priscilla Sarinas
PM 1993
PM 1995
PM 1995
University of Alabama, Birmingham, AL Gairy Hall PM 1995
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ Harry Greene PM 1989
University of California, Davis, CA Connie Whiteside PM 1986
University of California, Irvine, CA Carole Warde
Lawrence Lerno
PM 1988
PM 1992
University of California, Los Angeles, CA Alfred Petrocelli PM 1991
University of California, San Diego, CA Patricia Hlavin PM 1992
University of California, San Francisco, CA/ Fresno VAMC Paul Heineken
Paulette Ginier
PM 1994
PM 1993
University of Colorado, Denver, CO Richard Byyny PM 1987
University of Connecticut, Farmington, CT Anthony Ardolino
Luis Diez
PM 1995
PM 1995
University of Oklahoma, Tulsa, OK F. Daniel Duffy PM 1987
University of Texas, San Antonio, TX Abdu Kadri PM 1991
Wayne State University, Detroit, MI Kendra Schwartz PM 1994
Wright-Patterson Air Force Medical Center, OH Kenneth Olive
Brian Aboff
PM 1987
PM 1990
Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT Henry Compton Gift PM 1994


Last modified 05.06.2010

Footer Links: